Councils and Parishes on Romney Marsh


Across the UK, responsibilities for the services provided to residents are divided between different governmental organisations at varying levels. On Romney Marsh, there are four tiers of government:

  • Central Government
  • Kent County Council
  • Shepway District Council
  • Parish and Town Councils.

Central Government formulates statutes that affect the powers and responsibilities of the local-level tiers of government. The Department for Communities and Local Government is particularly responsible for relations with local government authorities.

The United Kingdom is currently divided into 650 parliamentary constituencies, each of which is represented by one Member of Parliament (MP) in the House of Commons. Romney Marsh is in the Folkestone and Hythe constituency.

Member of Parliament

Damian Collins is the MP for Folkestone and Hythe, which includes the Romney Marsh. Damian was re-elected in May 2015 as MP and he is also a member of the House of Commons Select Committee for Culture, Media, Sport and the Olympics. He lives in Elham with his wife and children.

You can contact Damian as follows:Damian Collins

by post: House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA
Telephone Icon 020 7219 7072 (House of Commons)    01303 253524 (Folkestone)    Email Icon email

For more information, please visit his Damian Collins website

Find out about how Damian Collins voted in the House of Commons.
Let Damian Collins know your views. Note My Vote enables you to vote on UK legislation before it becomes law. Your Member of Parliament will be informed of aggregate opinion in his or her constituency prior to the Final Vote on legislation in the House of Commons.

Kent County Council

County Councils operate over a large area and provide services such as education, social services, highways and public transportation. For details of the services that Kent County Council provide, please see their website at

Romney Marsh is represented at KCC by two Councillors, both elected at the May 2017 elections.


Tony Hills represents the Romney Marsh division, which covers Romney Marsh except for Dymchurch.

You can contact Tony as follows:

Home address:         Telephone Icon  01797 321246            07860 295730(m)   Email Icon email    
75 Copperfields 
Romney Marsh
Kent TN29 9UU


Martin Whybrow represents the Hythe West Division, which includes Dymchurch.

You can contact Martin as follows:

Home address:           Telephone Icon  03000 411009(b)    ​​07727 185385​(m)     Email Icon email           
St Catherine 
Cliff Road
Kent CT21 5XW

Martin Whybrow

Folkestone & Hythe District Council

Each county is divided into several districts or boroughs. District and Borough Councils
cover smaller areas and provide more local services, including council housing, gyms and
leisure facilities, local planning, recycling and waste collection.

Kent has fifteen district and borough councils, including on city council.

Romney Marsh is in Folkestone & Hythe District Council district. For details of the services that Folkestone & Hyhte District Council provide, please see their website at

There are three wards on Romney served by six Folkestone & Hythe District Councillors. 

The three wards are:

Distrct Wards


New Romney Ward  
New Romney, Greatstone (part)
and Littlestone

Romney Marsh Ward  
Comprising Burmarsh, Dymchurch, Newchurch, St Mary's Bay and
St Mary in the Marsh

Walland and Denge Ward
Brenzett, Brookland, Dungeness, Greatstone (part), Ivychurch, Lydd,
Lydd-on-Sea, Old Romney,
Snargate and Snave

Councillor Patrica Rolfe
Patricia Rolfe
Telephone Icon 07718 641066
Email Icon email

Councillor David Wimble
David Wimble
Telephone Icon 
01797 364837
Email Icon email

Councillor Ian Meyers
Ian Meyers
Telephone Icon 01303 873907
Email Icon email 

Councillor Terry Mullard
Terry Mullard
Telephone Icon01303 870203
Email Icon email

Councillor Clive Goddard
Clive Goddard
Telephone Icon01797 320989 
Email Icon email

Councillor Tony Hills
Tony HIlls
Telephone Icon 
01797 321246
Email Icon email

Parish and Town Councils

There are eleven Parish Councils serving Romney Marsh in the Folkestone & Hythe District Council area:

Index Icon Brenzett
Index Icon Brookland
Index Icon Burmash
Index Icon Dymchurch
Index Icon Ivychurch
Index Icon Lydd
Index Icon New Romney
Index Icon Newchurch
Index Icon Old Romney
Index Icon St Mary in the Marsh
Index Icon Snargate
Index Icon Listing of all Eleven Parish Councils
Index Icon Powers and Duties of Parish Councils
Index Icon Parish Councillor - Job Description
Index Icon Villages on Romney Marsh

A parish council is a type of local authority found in England which is the lowest, or first, tier of local government below districts and counties. Parish councils exist to protect and promote the interests of their communities and to provide local services.

Map of the Parishes of Romney Marsh
Parishes of Romney Marsh
Index Icon 
Interactive Map

A parish council is democratically elected to serve a defined and local area known as civil parishes, which are administrative parishes, in contrast to ecclesiastical parishes. Parish councils comprise unpaid councillors who are elected to serve for four years. Decisions of the council are carried out by a proper officer, typically known as a parish clerk.

The role played by parish councils varies. Smaller parish councils have only limited resources and generally play only a minor role, while some larger parish councils have a role similar to that of a small district council. Parish councils receive funding by levying a "precept" on the council tax paid by the residents of the parish.

A parish council serving a town may be called a town council. The two largest parish councils on the Marsh, Lydd and New Romney, are designated Town Councils.

Left Icon Community Homepage