Dymchurch Parish Council

The Parish of Dymchurch comprises of the village of Dymchurch and its adjacent rural areas.
A civil parish in the Shepway district of Kent, the village is located on the coast of Romney Marsh five miles south-west of Hythe.
 [see Parish Boundary Map]

The Parish covers nearly four miles of coastline, most of it a award winning sandy beach which attracts thousands of holidaymakers in the summer. It is steeped in history, with it once being the headquarters for law and order on the Marsh and its name derives from Deme, mediaeval English for judge or arbiter. Childrens amusements and rides, accessed via the seawall and High Street, together with eating establishments and essential shops are waiting to help you enjoy your visit in the village.


Dymchurch Parish Council Logo

Blue LIne

The Parish Council

The current (May 2019 Parish Council is:

Cllr Chris McCreedy (Chair)
Cllr Deana Coker (Vice Chair)
Cllr Sandra Leverick
Cllr Dougie Young
Cllr Mark Wright
Cllr Daniel Noonan
Cllr John Williams
Cllr Cathy Young  
Jeff Lawrence  Parish Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer

  Parish Council Offices in Orgarswick Road
    Council Offices in Orgarswick Road               

F&HDC Cllrs Ian Meyers and Terry Mullard represent Dymchurch at Folkestone & Hythe District Council.
KCC Cllr Martin Whybrow represents Dymchurch at Kent County Council.

Code of Conduct for Members

In accordance with the Localism Act 2011, this parish council adopted the new Code of Conduct on 6 August 2012. You can read the code here. You can view individual council members Register of Interests here.

Parish Council Meetings

The full Parish Council meets once a month on Monday evenings at 7.00pm in the Parish Council Offices in the council offices at 13 Orgarswick Avenue. There is a public session at the beginning of each meeting.

Agendas and Minutes of Council Meetings are available for the Dymchurch Parish Council wesbite.

Aerial VIew of Dymchurch
Aerial View of Dymchurch High Street and Beach

Parish Accounts

Smaller Authorities Transparency Code was introduced on 1 April 2015 and requires the on-line publication of certain information which the Government requests, to provide taxpayers with a clear picture of the authority’s activities and spending. 

Dymchurch Beach Advisory Group

There is a Beach Advisory Group comprising of councillors from the Parish Council, officers from the Environment Agency and Shepway District Council, together with other local club’s representatives. The group meet approximately every 8-10 weeks.

Working Parties

There are two working parties Asset and Amenities Working Party and Planning and Strategy Working Party.

NB. Working Groups were disbanded in December 2017 and have been replaced by working parties. Working parties are not subject to the strict rules that apply to formal council meetings and do not need to be held in public. A working party cannot make a decision on behalf of the council but can explore options and present these to the council for a decision.

Dymchurch Coastal Community Team Economic Plan

Dymchurch has been selected as one of the locations receiving support to develop a strategy to underpin future bids to the Coastal Community Fund (CCF) and other sources.

The Dymchurch Coastal Community Team (DCCT), with the support of Regeneris Consulting, has developed an economic plan and action plan to provide a framework for the activities and actions for DCCT in the short and medium-term.

The specific outcomes of the strategy are:
     Improve the visitor offer of Dymchurch
     Improve the appearance and perceptions of Dymchurch
     Diversification of the local economy
     Enhance local skills and employment opportunities

Underpinning these objectives is a number of themes that are explored in this strategy. For each theme, there is a range of short to medium term actions and projects which will help achieve the overall objectives of the strategy.

As well as the relevant projects, possible funding streams have been identified, along with potential partner organisations that can help deliver the relevant elements of the strategy. To support the primary research, a desktop study has also been carried out.

Read the full Dymchurch Economic Plan

Contacting The Parish Council

You can contact Dymchurch Parish Council as follows:

              Cllr Chris McCreedy Chair       Jeff Lawrence  Parish Clerk
                                    Dymchurch Parish Council
                                    13 Orgarswick Avenue 
                                    Romney Marsh 
                                    Kent TN29 ONX  
                                    The office is open 9.30am to 12.30pm on Monday and Tuesday mornings

                                   Telephone Icon 01303 872708
                                   Email Icon  email

NB Requests for information, where held electronically, will be free of charge. Other formats may be charged at cost.   

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Core Warning

Message: Module 'imagick' already loaded

Filename: Unknown

Line Number: 0